Getting Your License
It's the first thing you need to be officially wed and the last thing you know anything about obtaining. But don't worry, it's not as daunting as it seems. Here are the steps to getting your marriage license, just follow them one by one and you'll be fine, I promise ;)
The County Clerk
Most counties have two options for getting your license, online or in person. For the full experience, I recommend in person. It's a lot of fun. You have to appear together, you get to meet a new person and they even make you do an old timer raise your hand and swear kinda thing! I always say to make a date out of it, get your license and then celebrate over brunch and mimosas or something, make it memorable (it's a landmark event in your couple-ship).
You can get your license in any county, doesn't have to be the one you are going to wed in...BUT you will have to return it, either via mail (which just makes me squeamish) or in person. If you plan to return it in person, pick something near by or at least enroute!
List of county clerks locations at the bottom of this page ;)
What To Bring
The Marriage license fee is $30.00 USD
You can pay by card easiest.
US Issued ID, Drivers License
US Military ID
Birth Certificate (original or certified copy)
Social Security Number
A document regarding previous marriage if applicable (divorce decree, etc.)
What They Will Ask
The recorder will ask you for an exact date and location of your soon to be ceremony.
If you are previously divorced, you will need to supply a document of proof of the exact date of the ruling and your previous spouses name.
They will ask you if you are related by blood.
They will ask you what city and state you both were born in.
(Don't worry, you don’t have to be a Colorado resident to get married in Colorado).
If you are from out of the country, more detailed questions will apply.
The Marriage Certificate will be issued to you that day. They will ask you to verify the information printed on it is correct and then hand you a large envelope with the certificate inside. Try not to bend or crease it so it will look good in pictures.
It must be signed within a certain number of days (this varies by county but is generally 28-35 days) so plan to get it about 30 days before your wedding.
It must be returned to the same clerk within 63 days of the signature date (your wedding day) Many counties, like Boulder, do not ship out of state. You can discuss with recording for options, return it in person or have it shipped to me and I can ship it to you.
The county may ask if you have an actual officiant, since in Colorado, you don't technically need one. Yes, you do ;) I am licensed and registered as a reverend. I prefer the term priestess but will sign your license priestess/reverend to appease the powers that be.
Also optional in this beautiful state. If we have them, I will show them where and how to sign. If we don't it's no biggie! If your supper is your witness, yes that's legal here, just be sure someone knows to bring an ink pad for their paw print!
Arapahoe County Clerk & Recorder
Most convenient to : east Colorado weddings; Aurora, DTC, Cherry Creek
Located in: Arapahoe County Government Administration Building
Address: 5334 S Prince St, Littleton, CO 80120
M- F Open 7AM–4PM
Saturday & Sunday Closed
El Paso county - Clerk's Office
Most convenient to Colorado Springs, Garden of the Gods, Manitou Springs, Monument
Located in: Citizens Service Center
Address: 1675 W, 1675 Garden of the Gods Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80907
Jefferson County Clerk and Recorder
Most convenient to Genesee Park, Lookout Mountain, Golden, Evergreen
Located in: Jefferson County Government
Address: 100 Jefferson County Pkwy Suite 2560, Golden, CO 80401
M- R Open 7:30AM–5PM
Friday, Saturday, Sunday - Closed